Version française | English Version

TF1: Innovative radionuclides

Besides using carbon-11 and fluorine-18, several radionuclides were identified as having potential for the development of radiopharmaceuticals in oncology and neurology. They are copper-64, scandium-44, zirconium-89, gallium-68 for PET imaging and astatine-211, copper-67, scandium-47 for radionuclide therapy. With the exception of gallium-68 available from different companies as a Ge/Ga generator, the availability of other radionuclides is strongly dependent on the ability of the IRON Labex’s partners to produce them in sufficient amounts and adequate qualities.

The objective of TF1 is to develop the production of radionuclides of interest within the constraints associated with the development of radiopharmaceuticals (production under Good Manufacturing Practices - GMP). This requires, as applicable, the measurement of the cross sections of production, the development of targets, the optimization of irradiation parameters, and the development of extraction radiochemistry and characterization of radionuclide produced.

Within the context of the IRON Labex, two cyclotrons will produce these radionuclides: ARRONAX in Nantes and CYRCé in Strasbourg. Regular exchanges on GMP will be held with other biomedical cyclotrons involved in the project (Caen, Tours, Toulouse). 

TF1 image

TF2: From chemistry to drug formulation

Access to radiopharmaceutical is an essential prerequisite for molecular imaging and targeted radionuclide therapy. TF2 is interested in the development of these drugs, from their conception to formulation for in vivo injection, in order to exploit them later on in imaging or therapy in the IRON Labex’s WPs.

A key objective of this TF is to develop and optimize the synthesis and radiochemistry of radionuclides available or in development within the consortium (11C, 18F, 47Sc, 64Cu, 67Cu, 68Ga, 89Zr, 188Re, 211At ). Radiolabeling, which is a major focus of TF2 is coupled to multiple scientific fields that use synthetic chemistry (of various structures: aromatic, heterocyclic, peptides, carbohydrates, nucleoside or complexing, used as radiolabeling precursors), coordination chemistry (metals and lanthanides), bioconjugation and vectorization. Studies on structure-activity relationship and modeling, analytical chemistry and radiosynthesis automation are also crucial disciplines of this TF. All of the innovations from the TF2 should contribute to the development of innovative radiopharmaceuticals for diagnostic applications and therapy.

In general, TF2 is based on methodological and technological research for fundamental studies as well as industrial transfers. It also takes into account the regulatory aspects of radiopharmacy for GMP production of radiopharmaceuticals for clinical trials.

64Cu-ATSM et 188Re-SSS

64Cu-ATSM et 188Re-SSS

TF3: Preclinical assessment

The new radioactive molecules generated in TF1 and TF2 must be validated in preclinical models, at both cellular and animal levels. These preclinical models are required to demonstrate the effectiveness of new radiopharmaceuticals, evaluate their distribution and toxicity, and compare them with the reference molecules. The rodents immunocompetent or not are frequently used because they allow to work on substantial cohorts in a limited time. Teams of the IRON Labex also develop models of dogs and primates which are more closer to phase I/II clinical  trials

The objective of this TF is to develop a common strategy to analyze radiopharmaceutical candidates dedicated to imaging (PET, SPECT or multimodal) and therapy in oncology and neuroscience.

Specific models are set up: Alzheimer’s disease, neuroinflammation, cerebral ischaemia, hypoxia models. In oncology, the IRON Labex has many tumor models (prostate, breast, lung, liver, bone marrow thyroid cancer, multiple myeloma). A particular objective is the development of models of glioblastoma in different species.

TF3 image

TF4: Clinical transfer

The objective of TF4 is to ensure the transition from preclinical to clinical work from the WP1 (functional imaging of neurological diseases), WP2 (functional and phenotype imaging in neurology and oncology) and WP3 (nanomedicine and radionuclide therapy). To this aim, TF4 combines not only administrative skills (Radiopharmacy, correspondence with ASN (Nuclear Safety Authority) and ANSM (National Security Agency of Pharmaceuticals)), but also medical technology competences (PET acquisition and therapy platforms) and clinical expertises (clinical investigation centers, hospital services). The clinical transfer of TF4 involves both clinical pilot studies of first administration in man (Phase 1) and multicenter clinical protocols in order to answer to specific clinical questions in neuroscience and oncology.

In neuroscience, the main ongoing issues relate to dementia (clinical trials on amyloid plaques, development of tracers for tau protein and vesicular acetylcholine transporter), and stroke (neuroinflammation, ischemia, development of tracers to explore neuronal death).
In oncology, several clinical trials are already underway for different cancers (breast, lung, thyroid, myeloma and carcinoma ).

TF4 image

TF5: Social and human sciences

Since several years, nuclear medicine is undergoing strong development related to medical innovations in this area. Related research plays an important role by providing new knowledge for the purpose of diagnosis and therapy in the field of production of new radionuclides and imaging techniques. These innovations are very sensitive because they are structured in an environment of beliefs and representations associated with radioactivity, heavy regulatory burden and a health care system undergoing profound change (new public management). Thus, nuclear medicine covers important issues that arise at different levels: societal, organizational and individual.

TF5 has two approaches of analysis:

  • The first is to characterize and understand the risks associated with the production and administration of radiopharmaceuticals for all stakeholders of nuclear medicine.
    - For health professionals, what is their relation to the risks associated with low doses, what are the effects on their professional practices and modalities of cooperation?
    - For the patient, what are the risk representations and perceptions regarding nuclear medicine and its characteristics, and what is the impact of these dimensions on the experience of nuclear imaging in the pathway of care?
  • The second concerns the innovation process. It aims at providing a research on:
    - The process of hybridization of the ARRONAX cyclotron, identification of tensions and effects on innovation.
    - The establishment of an imaging collaborative platform between the teams of the IRON Labex.

TF5 image

Version française | English Version

TF1: Radionucléides innovants

Outre l’utilisation du carbone-11 et du fluor-18, plusieurs radionucléides ont été identifiés comme ayant un potentiel pour l’élaboration de radiopharmaceutiques en oncologie et en neurologie. Il s’agit du cuivre-64, du scandium-44, du zirconium-89, et du gallium-68 pour l’imagerie TEP et de l’astate-211, du cuivre-67, et du scandium-47 pour la radiothérapie moléculaire. A l’exclusion du gallium-68 qui est disponible sous forme de générateur Ge/Ga auprès de différents sociétés, la disponibilité des autres radionucléides dépend fortement de la capacité des partenaires du Labex IRON à les produire en quantités et qualités suffisantes.

L’objectif de la TF1 est de développer la production des radionucléides d’intérêt en respectant les contraintes associées aux développements de radiopharmaceutiques (production selon les bonnes pratiques de fabrication – GMP). Cela passe, suivant les cas, par la mesure des sections efficaces de production, le développement des cibles, l’optimisation des paramètres d’irradiation, le développement de la radiochimie d’extraction et la qualification des radionucléides produits.

Dans le cadre du Labex IRON, deux cyclotrons permettront la production de ces isotopes. Il s’agit d’ARRONAX à Nantes et de CYRCé à Strasbourg. Des échanges réguliers autour du GMP seront réalisés avec les autres cyclotrons biomédicaux impliqués dans le projet (Caen, Tours, Toulouse).

TF1 image

TF2: De la chimie au médicament

L’accès au médicament radiopharmaceutique est un des prérequis essentiel pour l’imagerie moléculaire et la radiothérapie ciblée. La TF2 s’intéresse à l’élaboration de ces médicaments, de leur conception à leur formulation pour l’injection in vivo, dans le but de les exploiter ultérieurement en imagerie ou en thérapie dans le cadre des WP.

Un des objectifs prioritaires de cette TF est de développer et d’optimiser la synthèse et la radiochimie liée à chacun des radionucléides disponibles ou en développement au sein du consortium (11C, 18F, 47Sc, 64Cu, 67Cu, 68Ga, 89Zr, 188Re, 211At…). L’activité de radiomarquage, qui constitue un des axes majeurs de la TF2, est couplée à des domaines scientifiques multiples qui font appel à la chimie de synthèse (de structures variées: aromatiques, hétérocycliques, peptidiques, carbohydrates, nucléosidiques ou complexantes, utilisées comme précurseurs de radiomarquages), la chimie de coordination (métaux et lanthanides), la bioconjugaison et la vectorisation. Les études de relation structure-activité, de modélisation, la chimie analytique ainsi que l’automatisation des radiosynthèses, sont également des disciplines cruciales dans la réalisation des travaux de cette TF. L’ensemble des innovations issues de la TF2 doit contribuer à la mise au point de radiopharmaceutiques innovants à visée diagnostique ou thérapeutique.

De façon générale, la TF2 vise des recherches méthodologiques et technologiques aussi bien pour des études fondamentales que pour des transferts industriels. Elle prend également en compte les aspects réglementaires de la radiopharmacie pour la production GMP des médicaments radiopharmaceutiques destinés aux essais cliniques.

64Cu-ATSM et 188Re-SSS

64Cu-ATSM et 188Re-SSS

TF3: Etudes précliniques

Les nouvelles molécules radioactives générées par les TF1 et 2 doivent nécessairement être validées dans des modèles précliniques, à l’échelle cellulaire et surtout à l’échelle de l’animal. Ces modèles précliniques sont indispensables pour démontrer l’efficacité des nouveaux radiopharmaceutiques, évaluer leur distribution et leur toxicité, et les comparer aux molécules de référence. Les rongeurs immunocompétents ou non sont fréquemment utilisés car ils permettent de travailler sur des cohortes conséquentes dans un temps limité. Les équipes du Labex IRON développent, de plus, des modèles de chien et de primates plus proches d’essais cliniques de phase I/II.

L’objectif de cette TF est le développement d’une stratégie commune d’analyse des candidats radiopharmaceutiques dédiés à l’imagerie (TEP, SPECT ou multimodales) et à la thérapie, en oncologie et en neurosciences.

Des modèles spécifiques sont mis en place: maladie d’Alzheimer, neuroinflammation, ischémie cérébrale, modèles d’hypoxie. En oncologie, le Labex IRON dispose de nombreux modèles tumoraux (prostate, sein, poumon, foie, cancer médullaire de la thyroïde, myélome multiple). Un objectif  particulier sera le développement de modèles de glioblastome dans différentes espèces.

TF3 image

TF4: Transfert clinique

La TF4 a pour objet d’assurer le passage de la préclinique à la clinique des travaux issus des WP1 (imagerie fonctionnelle des maladies neurodégénératives), WP2 (imagerie fonctionnelle et phénotypique en neurologie et oncologie) et WP3 (nanomédecine et radiothérapie moléculaire). A ce titre, cette TF associe à la fois des compétences administratives (Radiopharmacie, correspondances ASN (Autorité de Sûreté Nucléaire) et ANSM (Agence Nationale de Sécurité du Médicament)), médico-techniques (plateformes d’acquisition TEP et thérapies) et cliniques (centres d’investigation clinique, services hospitaliers). Ce transfert clinique concerne aussi bien des études pilotes de premières administrations à l’homme (phase 1) que des protocoles de recherches multicentriques dans le but de répondre à des problématiques cliniques spécifiques dans le domaine des neurosciences et de l’oncologie.

En Neurosciences, les principales thématiques cliniques en cours concernent les démences (essais cliniques sur les plaques amyloïdes, développement de traceurs pour les protéines Tau et pour le transporteur vésiculaire de l’acétylcholine), les accidents vasculaires cérébraux (neuroinflammation, ischémie, développement de traceurs pour explorer la mort neuronale).
En Oncologie, plusieurs essais cliniques sont d’ores et déjà en cours pour différents cancers (sein, poumon, thyroïde, myélome et carcinomes…).

TF4 image

TF5: Sciences humaines et sociales

Depuis plusieurs années, la médecine nucléaire connait un fort développement lié aux innovations médicales dans ce domaine. La recherche associée joue un rôle prépondérant en apportant des connaissances nouvelles à des fins de diagnostique et de thérapie dans le domaine de la production de nouveaux radionucléides et de techniques d’imagerie. Ces innovations sont très sensibles car elles se structurent dans un environnement caractérisé par des croyances et des représentations liées à la radioactivité, des contraintes réglementaires lourdes et un système de santé en profonde mutation (nouveau management public). Ainsi présentée, la médecine nucléaire couvre des enjeux importants qui se posent à plusieurs niveaux : sociétal, organisation et individuel.

Le volet SHS du Labex IRON repose sur deux axes d’analyse :

  • Le premier vise à caractériser et à comprendre les risques associés à la production et à l’administration de radiopharmaceutiques pour l’ensemble des parties prenantes de la médecine nucléaire.
    - Pour les professionnels de la santé, quel est leur rapport aux risques associés aux faibles doses, quels en sont les effets sur leurs pratiques professionnelles et les modalités de coopération ?
    - Pour le patient, quelles sont les représentations et perceptions des risques vis-à-vis de la médecine nucléaire et de ses spécificités, et quel est l’impact  de ces dimensions sur le vécu de l’imagerie nucléaire dans le parcours de soins ?
  • Le second concerne le processus d’innovation. Il vise à proposer une recherche sur :
    - le processus d’hybridation du cyclotron Arronax, d’en identifier les tensions et les effets sur la capacité d’innovation.
    - la mise en place d’une plateforme collaborative d’imagerie entre les partenaires du Labex.

TF5 image