Version française | English Version

The scientific objective of the IRON « Innovative Radiopharmaceuticals in Oncology and Neurology » Labex is to develop innovative radiopharmaceuticals and transfer them to the clinic for molecular imaging diagnosis (PET: Positron Emission Tomography) in neurology and oncology and targeted radionuclide therapy of cancer.
These radiopharmaceuticals will participate in the development of personalized medicine, to guide patients to appropriate targeted therapies or treat tumor disease refractory to conventional treatment

To achieve this objective, the IRON Labex is based on:

  • an ambitious cooperative translational research program in nuclear medicine,
  • research teams with complementary areas of expertise, from innovative radionuclide production to clinical research, located in Angers, Caen, Orléans, Nantes, Rennes, Strasbourg, Toulouse, et Tours,
  • a network of cyclotrons producing fluor-18 (Caen, Tours, Toulouse), but also innovative radionuclides for diagnostic applications (copper-64, scandium-44/44m, gallium-68, zirconium-89) and therapy (copper-67, scandium-47, astatine-211) (cyclotron Arronax in Nantes, cyclotron Cyrcé installed in 2013 in Strasbourg).
Le réseau de cyclotrons du Labex IRON

The IRON Labex cyclotrons’s network

The first 8 years (2012-2019) of the Labex IRON reports:

- 229 international publications including:

  • 81 cosigned with several IRON partners
  • 59 cosigned with international authors
  • 27 cosigned with industrials

- 1 international and 5 national publications in Human and Social Sciences

-1203 international communications

- 41 international academic collaborations

For the scientific program for the next 5 years (2020-2024), three major themes, driven by proofs of concept and technological breakthroughs obtained during the first period of the IRON Labex, have been identified. These themes represent major challenges in the context of stratified medicine in oncology and neurology.

  1. Risk based-therapy: define new prognostic/predictive biomarkers on PET imaging
  2. Theranostics: develop innovative radiopharmaceuticals for predictive imaging in order to select patients candidates for targeted therapies
  3. Combined therapies: especially using radionuclide therapy and immunotherapy

It is within this framework that the multidisciplinary IRON 2 scientific program was structured with 6 multi-partner Translational Projects (TP), to enhance synergy between partners already developed during the previous period of the IRON Labex. The 6 TP are based on 4 disciplinary Task Forces (TF) bringing together researchers in the same field but with complementary expertises. These TF have shown all their interest during the first 8 years of IRON Labex by sharing expertise between partners.

The 6 Translational Projects and the 4 Task Forces of the IRON 2 Labex scientific program

The 6 Translational Projects and the 4 Task Forces of the IRON Labex scientific program

Version française | English Version

Le Labex IRON « Innovative Radiopharmaceuticals in Oncology and Neurology » a pour objectif scientifique le développement de radiopharmaceutiques innovants et leur transfert en clinique pour le diagnostic par imagerie moléculaire (TEP: tomographie par émission de positons) en neurologie et en oncologie, et pour la thérapie du cancer par radiothérapie moléculaire.
Ces radiopharmaceutiques participeront au développement de médecine personnalisée, permettant d’orienter les patients vers des thérapies ciblées adaptées ou de traiter une maladie tumorale réfractaire aux traitements classiques.

Pour réaliser cet objectif, le Labex IRON s’appuie:

  • sur un programme scientifique ambitieux,
  • sur des équipes aux compétences complémentaires, de la production de radionucléides innovants jusqu’à la recherche clinique, présentes à Angers, Caen, Orléans, Nantes, Rennes, Strasbourg, Toulouse, et Tours,
  • sur un réseau de cyclotrons capables de produire du fluor-18 (Caen, Tours, Toulouse), mais aussi des radionucléides innovants pour des applications diagnostiques (cuivre-64, scandium-44/44m, gallium-68, zirconium-89) et thérapeutiques (cuivre-67, scandium-47, astate-211) grâce aux cyclotrons Arronax (Nantes) et Cyrcé (Strasbourg).
Le réseau de cyclotrons du Labex IRON

Le réseau de cyclotrons du Labex IRON

Un bilan scientifique des 8 premières années (2012-2019) du Labex IRON fait état de :

- 229 publications internationales dont :

  • 81 cosignées avec plusieurs partenaires IRON
  • 59 cosignées avec des auteurs internationaux
  • 27 cosignées avec des industriels

- 5 publications nationales et 1 internationale en Sciences Humaines et Sociales

- 1203 communications internationales

- 41 collaborations académiques internationales

Pour le programme scientifique des 5 prochaines années (2020-2024), trois grands thèmes, issus des preuves de concept et des avancées technologiques obtenues durant la première période du Labex IRON, ont été identifiés. Ces thèmes représentent des défis majeurs dans le contexte de la médecine stratifiée en oncologie et en neurologie.

  1. Thérapie basée sur le risque: définir de nouveaux biomarqueurs pronostiques pour l’imagerie TEP
  2. Théranostique: développer des radiopharmaceutiques innovants pour l’imagerie prédictive afin de sélectionner les patients candidats pour les thérapies ciblée
  3. Thérapies combinées : utiliser en particulier la radiothérapie vectorisée à l’astate-211 et l’immunothérapie

C’est dans ce cadre que s’est structuré le programme scientifique multidisciplinaire IRON 2 avec 6 Translational Projects (TP) multipartenaires, pour enrichir le réseau national qui s’est construit durant la première période du Labex IRON. Les 6 TP reposent sur 4 Task Forces (TF) disciplinaires regroupant des chercheurs du même domaine  mais aux expertises complémentaires. Ces TF ont montré tout leur intérêt durant les 8 premières années du Labex IRON par le partage de l’expertise entre les partenaires.

IRON 2 schéma TPs français sept 2020

Les 6 Translational Projects et les 4 Task Forces du programme scientifique du Labex IRON 2