Version française | English Version

WP1: Functional imaging of neurological diseases

Molecular imaging of neurodegenerative diseases is becoming the cornerstone of the exploration of these diseases allowing to consider: 1) early diagnosis, 2) personalized medicine, 3) monitoring the efficacy of treatment. Moreover, it is a tool of choice for the development and validation of new treatments.
The overall objective of this WP is to develop this functional imaging with a translational research from the development of tracers for new targets to clinical studies. The strength of this WP is to be multidisciplinary (biology, radiochemistry, radiopharmacy, nuclear medicine, psychiatry, neurology, expertise for multicenter clinical trials), and have a network of high level infrastructures to carry out this fundamental, clinical, academic, or  industrial research.
The topics being addressed (not exhaustive):

  •   Abnormal protein deposit: clinical trials on amyloid plaques and Tau protein imaging, development of alpha-synuclein tracers.
  •   Neurotransmission: development of tracers for cholinergic vesicular transporter and nicotinic alpha 7 receptor.
  • Neuroinflammation: identification of novel targets of neuroinflammation for both diagnostic and therapy, development of novel tracers for molecular imaging.

Scintigraphie des plaques amyloïdes avec le 18F-AV45 A: sujet sain B: sujet Alzheimer

Imaging of amyloid plaques with 18F-AV45
A: Healthy control B: Alzheimer disease

WP2: Functional and phenotype imaging in neurology and oncology

The objective of this WP is to develop molecules for functional and phenotype imaging in neurology and oncology with transverse and translational approaches ranging from the production of new radionuclides for the development of new tracers to clinical studies.
The topics being addressed (not exhaustive):

  • The development of new functional imaging approaches including tracers of hypoxia. This program aims to develop the production of copper-64 (64Cu) according to the criteria of good manufacturing practices (GMP) in the ARRONAX cyclotron in Nantes and the CYRCé cyclotron in Strasbourg, and validate the usefulness of new tracers hypoxia using 64Cu (including 64Cu-ATSM) with preclinical and clinical approaches in oncology (glioma, uterine and breast cancers, multiple myeloma ) and neurology (cerebral ischemia ) as compared to existing PET markers (e.g. [18F]-FMISO). Will also be developed in this WP more selective radiopharmaceuticals than the existing ones such as [18F]fludarabine for imaging lymphoma.
  • The development of new phenotype imaging approaches to improve the diagnosis and therapeutic monitoring of cancer. In addition to 64Cu, ARRONAX and CYRCé cyclotrons will provide access to other innovative radionuclides for diagnostic applications (scandium-44/44m, gallium-68, zirconium-89) and therapy (copper-67, scandium -47, astatine-211) in oncology more suitable for the targeted therapy and immuno-PET

Several clinical trials are already underway for different types of cancer (breast, lung, thyroid, myeloma and many carcinomas ).
This WP associates multidisciplinary approaches (chemistry/radiochemistry, radiopharmacy, biology, preclinical, clinical)  to foster the development of transverse and translational, academic and industrial research.

WP2 image

WP3: Nanomedicine and radionuclide therapy

This WP includes the design of nanomedicines and their uses in molecular radiotherapy (peptides, antibodies, polymers) or particulate radiotherapy (nanocapsules, liposomes), the coupling with the radionuclide being performed by chelation or by encapsulation.
Radionuclides considered for beta emitters are rhenium-188, yttrium-90, copper-67, and scandium-47 while among alpha emitters, we limited our choice to astatine-211. For the production of some of these radionuclides (67Cu, 47Sc, 211At), an initial step of development conducted in the cyclotron ARRONAX  is necessary. This development is part of this WP. Other radionuclides are produced by classical generators (188Re, 90Y).
Depending on the type of nanomedicine used, the main diseases targeted are glioblastoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, breast cancer and lung cancer, alpha-immunotherapy is essentially dedicated to the treatment of multiple myeloma and prostate cancer.

Nanomédecine particulaire

Particulate nanomedicine

Version française | English Version

WP1: Imagerie fonctionnelle des maladies neurodégénératives

L’imagerie moléculaire des maladies neurodégénératives devient la pierre angulaire de l’exploration de ces maladies permettant d’envisager: 1) un diagnostic précoce, 2) une médecine personnalisée, 3) un suivi de l’efficacité des traitements. Par ailleurs, c’est un outil de choix pour le développement et la validation des nouveaux traitements.
L‘objectif général de ce WP est de développer cette imagerie fonctionnelle avec une recherche translationnelle allant du développement de traceurs pour de nouvelles cibles jusqu’aux études cliniques. La force de ce WP est d’être multidisciplinaire (biologie, radiochimie, radiopharmacie, médecine nucléaire, psychiatrie, neurologie, expertise des essais multicentriques), et de disposer d’infrastructures de haut niveau en réseau permettant de mener à bien ces recherches fondamentales et cliniques, académiques, ou industrielles.
Les thèmes actuellement abordés (liste non exhaustive):

  • Dépôt de protéines anormales: essais cliniques sur les plaques amyloïdes et les protéines Tau, développement de traceurs pour l’alpha-synucléine.
  • Neurotransmission: développement de traceurs pour le transporteur vésiculaire de l’acétylcholine et le récepteur nicotinique alpha 7.
  • Neuroinflammation: recherche de nouvelles cibles moléculaires pour explorer et traiter la neuroinflammation.

Scintigraphie des plaques amyloïdes avec le 18F-AV45 A: sujet sain B: sujet Alzheimer

Scintigraphie des plaques amyloïdes avec le 18F-AV45
A: sujet sain B: sujet Alzheimer

 WP2: Imagerie fonctionnelle et phénotypique en neurologie et oncologie

L’objectif de ce WP est le développement de molécules pour l’imagerie fonctionnelle et phénotypique en neurologie et oncologie avec des approches transversales et translationnelles allant de la production de nouveaux radionucléides pour le développement de nouveaux traceurs jusqu’aux études cliniques.
Les thèmes actuellement abordés (liste non exhaustive):

  • Le développement de nouvelles approches d‘imagerie fonctionnelle incluant des traceurs de l’hypoxie. Ce programme vise à mettre en place la production de cuivre-64 (64Cu) suivant les critères de bonnes pratiques de fabrication (GMP) au sein du GIP Arronax à Nantes puis du cyclotron CYRCé à Strasbourg, et à valider l’intérêt de nouveaux traceurs d’hypoxie à base de 64Cu (dont le 64Cu-ATSM) avec des approches précliniques et cliniques en oncologie (gliomes, cancers de l’utérus, du sein et myélome multiple…) et neurologie (ischémie cérébrale…) par comparaison aux marqueurs TEP déjà existants (exemple: [18F]-FMISO). Seront également développés au sein de ce WP des radiopharmaceutiques plus sélectifs que ceux existants tels que le [18F]fludarabine pour l’imagerie des lymphomes.
  • Le développement de nouvelles approches d‘imagerie phénotypique afin d’améliorer le diagnostic et le suivi thérapeutique des cancers. Ainsi, outre le 64Cu, les cyclotrons Arronax et Cyrcé vont également permettre l’accès à d’autres radionucléides innovants pour des applications diagnostiques (scandium-44/44m, gallium-68, zirconium-89) et thérapeutiques (cuivre-67, scandium-47, astate-211) en oncologie et plus adaptés pour la thérapie vectorisée et l’immuno-TEP.

Plusieurs essais cliniques sont déjà en cours pour différents types de cancer (cancers du sein, du poumon, de la thyroïde, myélome et nombreux carcinomes…).
Ce WP associe des approches multidisciplinaires (chimie/radiochimie, radiopharmacie, biologie, préclinique, clinique) favorisant le développement de recherches transversales et translationnelles, académiques ou industrielles.

WP2 image

WP3: Nanomédecine et radiothérapie moléculaire

Ce WP regroupe la conception de nanomédecines et leurs utilisations en radiothérapie, qu’elles soient de type moléculaire (peptides, anticorps, polymères) ou particulaire (nanocapsules, liposomes), la conjugaison du radionucléide étant réalisée par chélation ou encapsulation selon le type de système retenu.
Les radionucléides envisagés sont, pour les émetteurs béta, le rhénium-188, l’yttrium-90, le cuivre-67, et le scandium-47 alors que parmi les émetteurs alpha, nous nous sommes limités à l’astate-211. Pour certains de ces radionucléides, une étape de développement constituant un axe de recherche de ce WP est nécessaire à leur production, réalisée dans le cadre du cyclotron Arronax (67Cu, 47Sc, 211At), les autres correspondent à des produits de générateurs classiquement utilisés (188Re, 90Y).
Selon les types de nanomédecine utilisés, les principales pathologies visées sont le glioblastome, l’hépatocarcinome, les cancers du sein et du poumon, l’alpha-immunothérapie étant essentiellement dédiée au traitement du myélome multiple et du cancer de la prostate.

Nanomédecine particulaire

Nanomédecine particulaire